Interreg V-A: Cross-border co-operation

Are partners required?


Is mobility required/involved?


Key areas of focus

Economic Growth
Environment and climate change
Research and innovation


Interreg V-A, supports cooperation between regions from at least two different member states lying directly on the borders or adjacent to them. It aims to address the economic and social problems which result from the existence of borders, tackle common challenges and exploit the untapped growth potential in these areas.

There are four sub-strands relevant to the UK in the Interreg V-A programme:

Key Facts - Two Seas

The Two Seas sub-strand has €257 million to invest. Priorities include:

  • to improve the conditions for delivery of technological and social innovation
  • promote low carbon technologies
  • adaptation to climate change

Key Facts - France (Channel) England

The France (Channel) England sub-strand has €223 million to invest. Priorities include:

  • promote investment in innovation to tackle economic and societal issues
  • support low carbon economy, enhance
  • promote attractiveness of territories

Key Facts - Wales / Ireland

The Wales / Ireland sub-strand has €100 million to invest. Priorities include:

  • cross border innovation
  • adaptation of the Irish Sea and coastal communities to climate change
  • cultural and natural resources and heritage

Key Facts - Northern Ireland / Ireland / Scotland

The Northern Ireland, the Border Region of Ireland and Western Scotland sub-strand has €256 million to invest. Priorities include:

  • diversification and development of the economy,
  • innovation and competitiveness in enterprise and business development
  • promoting tourism
  • cross-border co-operation in policy development
  • improving the quality of life for those living in the eligible area

More information can be found in the programme factsheet and the citizen's summary prepared by SEUPB.

Relevant Regions

The Two Seas sub-strand covers the South West, South East and East of England, coastal parts of France (Channel, North Sea), Flanders and Netherlands.

The France (Channel) England sub-strand covers the South West, South East and East of England and Finistere to Pas-de-Calais in France.

The Wales/Ireland sub-strand covers the West coast of Wales with the South-East coast of Ireland.

The Northern Ireland / Ireland / Scotland strand covers the whole of Northern Ireland, the border counties of Ireland (Monaghan, Leitrim, Cavan, Louth, Sligo and Donegal), and Western Scotland (Dumfries & Galloway, East Ayrshire and North Ayrshire mainland; South Ayrshire; Lochaber, Skye & Lochalsh, Arran & Cumbrae and Argyll & Bute and Eilean Siar/Western Isles).

UK Contact Points

Contacts for each sub-strand can be found on the following pages: