Interreg V-C: Inter-regional co-operation

Are partners required?


Is mobility required/involved?


Key areas of focus

Economic Growth
Entrepreneurship and SMEs
Environment and climate change
Research and innovation


There are four cooperation programmes relevant to the UK in the Interrreg B programme:

  • Interreg Europe
  • ESPON 2020 

Key Facts: Interreg Europe

Interreg Europe helps regional and local governments across Europe to develop and deliver better policy. By creating an environment and opportunities for sharing solutions, we aim to ensure that government investment, innovation and implementation efforts all lead to integrated and sustainable impact for people and place.

Interreg Europe has €359 million to invest. Priorities are to promote co-operation to improve policy and capacity in the field of:

  • research and innovation
  • SME competitiveness
  • low carbon economy
  • environment and resource efficiency


The INTERACT III programme has €39 million to act as a hub for exchanging information, best practices among co-operation programmes as a means to promote growth and change.. The Interact team offers training, tools and encourages networking within the territorial cooperation community and beyond. Reducing administrative burden for both programme bodies and beneficiaries Interact provides advisory services on Interreg practic


The URBACT III programme has €96.3 million provides a framework of network between local and regional bodies facing similar urban challenges. In order to find common solutions for a sustainable and integrated urban development in Europe, URBACT III supports cities by exchanging information and identifying good practice.

Key Facts: ESPON 2020

ESPON 2020 has a budget of €41 million to support the reinforcement of EU cohesion policy through the production, dissemination, and promotion of territorial evidence. The programme produces pan-European research by providing scientific information to public authorities at all levels.

ESPON's 2020 overarching objective is to support the development of regions in line with the EU Cohesion Policy as well as national development policies making sure the cities and regions across Europe are well informed.

Relevant Regions

Interreg Europe, INTERACT III and URBACT III cover all EU member states, plus Norway and Switzerland.

ESPON 2020 covers all the 28 EU member states and Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

UK Contact Points

Interreg Europe



Four Interact Offices deliver zone and EU-wide services in Turku, Finland, Valencia, Spain, Viborg, Denmark and Vienna, Austria

Overall programme coordination is ensured by the Interact Secretariat and the Managing Authority located in Bratislava, Slovakia.

ESPON 2020
The Managing Authority located in Luxembourg
The UK contact point is yet to be nominated.