Interreg V

Are partners required?


Is mobility required/involved?


Key areas of focus

Economic Growth
Research and innovation


The Interreg V programme is also known as the European Territorial Co-operation programme. It allocates funds from the ERDF, and is therefore focused on the same ERDF objectives – but it supports projects on the basis of partnerships – in this way, it is more like a trans-national fund – and therefore, partnerships of organisations from at least 2 (and usually 3) countries are required.

This programme offers support for project partners to:

  • Preserve and promote cultural heritage where these tie in with a sustainable urban development policy
  • Undertake projects with an arts / culture focus where such projects contributed in some way to economic development

Across Europe, the total budget for the Interreg V programme is approximately €10 billion.

Interreg V has three strands, and within each strand, there are a number of sub-strands. You can use the links below so see the sub-strands relevant to the UK:

  • Interreg V-A: Cross-border co-operation (€5.57bn)
  • Interreg V-B: Transnational co-operation (€1.58bn)
  • Interreg V-C: Inter-regional co-operation (€392m)

Each sub-strand has its Secretariat which sets criteria, manages calls for proposals and deadlines and allocates the funding for that sub-strand.

Key Facts

Projects must involve organisations from more than one member state; the best projects will have a wide coverage of different organisations from across the programme area, as well as a clear plan to spread the results of their project more widely.

Projects are coordinated by a ‘lead partner’, who ensures that the project partnership functions effectively. Programmes employ staff to support the generation of good project ideas, and then to manage the projects chosen for delivery. Each programme has its specific arrangements and requirements, which can be found through the web links below.

Relevant Region(s)

Each sub-strand covers a specific geographical area, those relevant to the UK are:

  • Interreg V-A: Cross-border co-operation

Southern England (stretching from Cornwall to Norfolk), Scotland, the western parts of Wales and Northern Ireland

  • Interreg V-B: Transnational co-operation

North West Europe – this covers all of the UK
North Sea Area – covering the east side of the UK
Atlantic Area – covering the west side of the UK
Northern Periphery – covering Scotland and Northern Ireland

  • Interreg V-C: Inter-regional co-operation

28 EU Members States, plus Iceland and Norway – this covers all of the UK

UK Contact Point(s)

The UK does not participate in all Interreg programmes, but there are 16 programmes that cover all or parts of the UK. Nine of these involve England, and these are overseen by the Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG).

The Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG) acts for the UK by:

  • influencing the shape of the programmes for achieving greater impact and effective use of investment
  • participating in meetings that report on programme progress and make joint decisions (with other participating member states) about projects to be supported
  • liaising with and managing the programme contact points who advise and support potential UK applicants
  • ensuring effective verification of expenditure claims of UK project partners to minimise any irregularities and more generally ensuring that expenditure is eligible.

Visit the funding opportunity pages of Interreg V-A, Interreg V-B and Interreg V-C for more information on the Managing Authorities for each sub-strand.