EUPL ceremony 2014. Photo: Maxime Dendraën

Winners of 2015 European Union Prize for Literature announced at The London Book Fair

Tibor Navracsics, the European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, will reveal this year’s winners of the European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) at The London Book Fair, which takes place from 14-16 April at Olympia, in west London.

The EUPL is an annual award for emerging European authors and helps their works to access new audiences across Europe. Whilst the prize is open to all countries eligible for the Culture sub-programme of Creative Europe, each year in a third (around 12 or 13) of the participating countries national juries nominate their winning authors so that all countries and language areas can be represented over a three-year period.

This year 12 prizes will be awarded to authors from Austria, Croatia, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia and Sweden. Each country’s national juries nominate three up-and-coming authors from each of these countries and will also choose the eventual winners of the European prize.

Here are this year’s three Irish nominees:

Mary Costello’s Academy Street– the powerful story of a young Irish woman who migrates to the United States

Donal Ryan’s The Spinning Heart– a snapshot of a rural Irish community battered by the recent recession

Deidre Sullivan’s Primperfect– the intelligent and funny final instalment of her young adult trilogy about Prim

The prize is organised by the European Booksellers Federation, the European Writers’ Council and the Federation of European Publishers, on behalf of the European Commission. The EUPL awards ceremony for the 12 winners of the European Union Prize for Literature is held in Brussels, Belgium on 23 June.

Find out more about the European Union Prize for Literature

Image: EUPL Ceremony 2014. Photo: Maxime Dendraën