The UK signs the revised version of the European Convention on Cinematographic Coproduction (ECCC)

Amidst the uncertainty of Brexit, the UK’s ability to co-produce with other European countries remains unaffected as it is governed by the Convention under the auspices of the Council of Europe.  

The Convention has recently undergone a revision which allows more flexibility and enables European signatories to coproduce with partners outside Europe, for example Canada, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand and Latin America, without having to use bilateral coproduction treaties.

It also lowers the minimum participation level lowered to 5% allowing smaller territories to become co-producers on bigger projects from which were effectively excluded from as often they were not able to provide 20% of the overall budget to become part of bilateral co-productions or the 10% required for multilateral treaties. 

Before the UK can start using the Convention, it will need to be ratified in the UK Parliament. Only nine nations have both signed and ratified the new Convention so far.

In the meantime, UK producers are still able to use the old Convention. Co-productions where at least one country involved has not yet signed and ratified the new text will continue to be regulated by the 1994 Convention.