UK feature The Panopticon among projects selected for IFFR’s CineMart

The International Film Festival Rotterdam’s co-production market CineMart has released the list of projects chosen to partake in its 36th edition from 27 to 30 January.

The project selected from the UK is The Panopticon, an adaptation of Scottish author Jenni Fagan’s acclaimed novel of the same name, set in a dystopian world in which a 15-year-old girl is sent to a home for chronic youth offenders. Produced by Rosetta Films, the film will be directed by Jim Loach and has been scripted by Fagan.

A variety of countries are represented in the 16-strong selection, from Palestine and the Philippines to Brazil and Belgium. 

Supported by Creative Europe’s Access to Markets scheme, CineMart offers filmmakers the opportunity to launch their ideas to the international film industry and to establish connections that may enable the financing of their project. 

CineMart alumni include Birds of Passage, Colombia's official entry for the Foreign Language Film Oscar race, which also picked up IFFR’s €6,000 ARTE International Prize. A co-production between Colombia, Denmark, Mexico and Germany, the film was later supported by MEDIA through one of the five International Co-Productions Funds.

In collaboration with VR Days Europe – likewise a beneficiary of Creative Europe’s Access to Markets scheme - IFFR Pro has also invited four VR projects to pitch at the IFFR Pro x VR Days event on 29 January. Among the projects invited is Cosmos Within Us, produced by UK company Satore Studio/Tech. 

The forthcoming edition of the market will continue to roll out its re-envisioned approach that sees a reduced number of selections in favour of a streamlined programme to optimise the project’s opportunities within the marketplace. The selected projects will also be assigned a personal mentor who will support preparations one month in advance.

The projects will vie for the Eurimages Co-Production Development Award, the ARTE Kino International Prize, the Wouter Barendrecht Award and the Filmmore Postproduction Award. 

To view this year’s full selection, visit the IFFR website