music moves europe squid

UK band Squid nominated for Music Moves Europe Talent Awards 2021

Sixteen outstanding artists from across Europe were nominated this month for the Creative Europe supported Music Moves Europe Talent Awards 2021, including UK post-punk band Squid, hailing from Brighton.

Music Moves Europe Talent Awards were announced at the Reeperbahn Festival in Hamburg, Germany on 18 September in presence of the European Commissioner for Culture, Mariya Gabriel. This annual EU prize for popular and contemporary music is co-funded by the Creative Europe programme, and celebrates emerging artists who represent the European sound of today and tomorrow. All winners will be revealed at the awards ceremony on January 15 during ESNS (Eurosonic Noorderslag) 2021 in Groningen, The Netherlands.

Compared to Anglo-American music, the total percentage of music originating from continental Europe is relatively small. The Music Moves Europe Talent Awards are designed to accelerate the international careers of upcoming European artists.

Music fans across Europe will vote to select the winner of the 2021 Public Choice Award. The voting period runs from 18 September to 7 January exclusively via the official Music Moves Europe Talent Awards website. The winner of the Public Choice Award 2021 receives an additional cash prize of € 5.000.

All sixteen nominees will be rewarded with promotion support and a performance at ESNS. From these sixteen, the jury will select eight winners. Each winner selected by the jury receives a prize worth of €10.000 to be spent towards promoting their international careers.

The full list of nominees are as follows, and more information can be found on

  • Alyona Alyona (UA)
  • Bratři (CZ)
  • Calby (DK)
  • Crystal Murray (FR)
  • Inhaler (IE)
  • Julia Bardo (IT)
  • Lina_ Raül Refree (PT)
  • Lous and The Yakuza (BE)
  • Melenas (ES)
  • Mero (DE)
  • My Ugly Clementine (AT)
  • Nea (SE)
  • Rimon (NL)
  • Sassy 009 (NO)
  • Squid (UK)
  • Vildá (FI)