European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL)

European Union Prize for Literature winners announced

Tibor Navracsics, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, has announced the winners of the 2016 European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) at the European Commission. This Creative Europe-supported award recognises the best new and emerging authors in Europe. This year’s winners are:

  • Tanja Stupar-Trifunović (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
  • Christophe Van Gerrewey (Belgium)
  • Antonis Georgiou (Cyprus)
  • Bjørn Rasmussen (Denmark)
  • Paavo Matsin (Estonia)
  • Selja Ahava (Finland)
  • Nenad Joldeski (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia)
  • Benedict Wells (Germany)
  • Gast Groeber (Luxembourg)
  • Claudiu M. Florian (Romania)
  • Jasmin B. Frelih (Slovenia) 
  • Jesús Carrasco (Spain)

Each winner receives €5,000 and benefits from international visibility at Europe's major book fairs, including Frankfurt, London and Paris. With an aim to increase the circulation of these winning authors and books, automatic points are given to publishers to translate EUPL-winning titles when they apply for Creative Europe's Literary Translation funding opportunity

UK publisher Harvill Secker (Random House) received a grant from Creative Europe in 2014 to translate six titles including Out in the Open by Spain’s EUPL-winning author, Jesús Carrasco. The English translation of his novel launched in 2015 at European Literature Night at the British Library in London.  

Find out more about European Union Prize for Literature

Find out more about Creative Europe’s Literary Translation funding opportunity with an application deadline on 27 April 2016

Photo: EUPL's compendium of extracts from all the winning authors in 2016.