Electricity, starring Agyness Deyn

Electricity wins Best Screenplay at National Film Awards

Electricity, written by Joe Fisher and directed by Bryn Higgins, has won the prize for Best Screenplay at the National Film Awards.

Production company Stone City Films was awarded a grant for the film through MEDIA's Single Project development funding scheme.

Based on the debut novel by Ray Robinson, Electricity is a portrayal of epilepsy through the eyes of Lily O'Connor, played by Agyness Deyn in her feature film debut.

Joe's screenplay beat strong competition from The Theory of Everything and The Fault in Our Stars to pick up the prize at the awards ceremony in London.

The National Film Awards are one of the only film awards ceremonies whose nominations and voting are fully decided by fans.