Still from The Commune (large)

Creative Europe films compete at the Berlinale

20 films selected for the Berlin International Film Festival (Berlinale) have been supported through Creative Europe’s MEDIA sub-programme. The festival runs from 11 to 21 February 2016. 

Five of these titles are vying for the Golden and Silver Bears in the Main Competition:

Saint Amour by Benoît Delépine and Gustave Kervern (France/Belgium), which is supported through Creative Europe's Automatic distribution scheme, features in the 'out of competition' selection.

The Award Ceremony will take place on 20 February at the Berlinale Palast.

Several further Creative Europe-funded films have also been selected for the other sections of the 66th Berlinale programme. Two UK projects which were both developed with MEDIA sub-programme funding screen in the Panorama Documents section:

All of a Sudden (Auf einmal) by Asli Özge (Germany/Netherlands/France) and Aloys by Tobias Nölle (Switzerland/France) also screens in the Panorama Special section. The Panorama programme explicity targets film buyers, giving exposure to new films by renowned directors, debut films and new discoveries. Meanwhile the Forum programme, which highlights avant garde, experimental and essay films, includes Swedish-German co-production The Yard (Yarden) by Måns Månsson, Eldorado XXI by by Salomé Lamas (Portugal/ France) and Lily Lane (Liliom Ösvény) by Bence Fliegauf (Hungary).

For younger audiences, the festival's Generation Kplus programme features Ted Sieger’s Molly Monster by Ted Sieger, Matthias Bruhn and Michael Ekblad (Switzerland/Germany/Sweden) and Mellow Mud (Es esmu šeit) by Renārs Vimba (Latvia).

The other Creative Europe-funded films included in the programme are:

  • Culinary Cinema: Noma - My Perfect Storm by by Pierre Deschamps (UK/Denmark/Spain)
  • Berlinale Special Gala: A Serious Game by Pernilla August (Sweden/Denmark/Norway)
  • Panorama: The First, the Last (Les Premiers Les Derniers) by Bouli Lanners (France/Belgium)
  • Panorama Documents: Brothers of the Night by Patric Chiha (Austria), Strike a Pose by Reijer Zwaan, Ester Gould (Netherlands/Belgium).

Photo: The Commune (Kollectivet), image courtesy of the Berlinale.